Reviews by Readers:

I am left in “withdrawal” 
 July 1, 2016
5 Stars

Having finished reading the book, I am left in “withdrawal” which occurs when I read a good book and get involved with the characters and their lives. Characters are funny, irritating, poignant, frustrating, sensitive, cold, etc. They feel real, like people I have known, that we all have known. Brenda Sutton Rose goes full circle, starting the reader at one point, ending it with a full understanding of how these people have grown and matured in their lifetimes.

There is some violence, but it is tempered and not lengthy. Some titillation, also minor and definitely not graphic or drawn out.

Dogwood Blues will enchant you!
March 7, 2015
5 Stars
I loved this book from beginning to end. I found myself identifying with many of the characters. They come alive on the pages and you want to know more and more about them. Each character has a story and the author expertly weaves those stories together that culminates in one great story. There were times I laughed out loud, cried and even cheered while reading it. I’m hoping there is a sequel!
I haven’t enjoyed a book this much in a long time
June 1, 2015
5 Stars

I haven’t enjoyed a book this much in a long time. The beauty of the words drew me in right from the beginning. I wasn’t sure I could identify with characters from a small Southern town, but these people were so real that I felt an immediate connection. It was like I had known them and their small town all of my life.

I wanted to read this book slow and easy, reluctant to let it end, but the story would not wait for me and as the action picked up I found myself lost in the lives of these people. Laughing with them, worrying about them, and holding my breath as events unfolded, I found myself at the end before I had even realized it had happened. I hope that the author continues the story, but if not … thank you for the great ride.
Southern Fiction at it’s Best!
April 18, 2016
5 Stars
I am always looking for fiction written about the south. Generally the locales and characters are based on an author’s surroundings from life through the years. Brenda Sutton Rose does not disappoint at all in this griping novel. The element of mystery and intrigue held me captive till I finished the book. I especially liked that she had a mix of characters from all walks of life some of whom I could relate to and those that sounded just like some that I grew up around! I look forward to her next book which I think is a sequel to Dogwood Blues.
Beautiful writing
February 7, 2017
5 Stars
This started out a a simple little read, and dragged me in within a chapter. Lighthearted, the characters appear as every Southern eccentricity we have ever read. But the author starts to peel back those layers with a depth and emotion that makes us care, like, and laugh and grieve with them. Beautiful, lyrical writing that reminds me of everything I both love and dislike about the south.

Blues!!!

February 16, 2017
5 Stars
Very flowery, descriptive writing. The characters are well-defined in both past & present. The trials of both a teen trying to come to terms with his sexuality & another teen overcoming & leaving a drunken, abusive father are very real. Laughter & tears, in the book & for this reader!
Enjoyable read!
February 2, 2017
5 Stars
I just finished this book this morning, it really kept me engrossed. I did contact the author with one mistake and she answered very quickly and will correct it. It is real southern life, the ladies were so real. I am sure you will enjoy this book, please read it.
Excellent tale of life in a small southern town
April 2, 2015
5 Stars
Excellent tale of life in a small southern town; lovable characters, and their despicable counterparts. Makes you want to dust off your canoe and glide down the Alapaha in search of secrets.